10 ideas to summer proof your room

 

Loving summer vibes

As of lately I have been loving the summer vibes, and I am very sorry for not posting new blogs. I have been so occupied with friends and family and school stuff. That I unfortunately didn’t have time for blogging. Secondly I don’t ever want to post something just to post something, I like to put thought into this blog because you guys deserve that. ย So today I will be posting about art and decoration and what better thing to post about than summer proofing a bedroom. I don’t know about you guys but my bedroom is kind of my own happy place. It is the only room that I can make entirely my own. So of course I love redecorating it with new accessories during the different seasons. You have to see it when it is Christmas time, it’s insane, everyone who enters feels like they are in a winter wonderland. Okay back to the subject, because summer is already here and me leaving on holiday is only at the end of September. I felt like I had to get those beachy summery vibes into my bedroom. For this I found a lot of little bits and bops when I went on my sales shopping spree. But I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t DIY some things myself.

So here are some ideas to summer proof your room and some little bits and bops you can buy to get that beachy vibe going ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Flower power

    Summer wouldn’t be summer without some flower power right? So what I like to do is getting some fake flowers or if you are a really good caregiver of plants aka the opposite of me, you could also use real flowers of course ๐Ÿ™‚ to get that flower vibe going ๐Ÿ™‚

    ppetmp-7

  2. Twinkle twinkle little star ….

    Yes, you guessed it twinkle lights are also a must, and we are in luck because they now sell them in the most amazing shapes you can imagine, like flamingo’s, pineapples, little crescent moons, flowers, you name it! Of course I don’t think I have to explain why these lights make all the difference when you decorate your room. For one with their fun shapes, when it is still light outside they make a lovely decoration. And then secondly when night time falls they make your room feel magical and cosy with the extra benefit of shedding some light on your other decorations.

    These one’s are from CasaAnd if you are really creative you can make some yourself and put shells around the lights ๐Ÿ˜‰ like this:

    Schermafbeelding 2017-08-01 om 21.37.26

  3. Shells and sunset’s

    If I think of the beach I think about shells and sunset’s so getting beach vibes doesn’t necessarily entail to add blue to your room. For instance, if you prefer pink, like I do, you could beachavy it by adding colours to resemble a sunset like purple and yellow or orange. Or if you don’t like to much colour you could add decorative shells (maybe shells you assembled during your summer trip you went on) or you could go Hawaiian style, with lots of flowers (like for instance, a curtain of flowers you could hang from your bed or on your door) you can be as creative as you want. What I always like to do is go on Pinterest and look at some boards to get some inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

    Schermafbeelding 2017-08-01 om 21.46.09

  4. Inspirational quotes

    This one goes without saying but, putting inspirational quotes about summer or about the beach into frames can also give your room that beachy feeling. Bonus, you will feel relaxed and zen when you see those inspirational quotes and you’ll feel like youโ€™re on the beach in no time ๐Ÿ˜‰

    These are some from Pinterest ๐Ÿ˜‰ but you could also create/DIY one yourself of course!

  5. Frame it baby

    Going further on putting things in frames you could change some of your pictures into pictures of the sea or a palm tree or you could make lightboxes that you fill with a bit of sand and shells with a background picture. that you then can place or hang somewhere in your room. Oh! or you can buy one of those lovely picture frame with glitters or gems that move and put a holiday picture in it! like I for instance did

  6. Sunglasses are everything

    Another thing that I find very summery are sunglasses maybe you could showcase these somewhere in your room; Maybe use a pineapple as a showcase, it looks really funny and summery and will make you smile instantly

    Pineapples & summer.

  7. DIY a cocktail for your pens

    If you are a student, like me and want to make your desk a little more summery you could find big water glasses or jars even better to put your pencils in and for the summery touch you could put in one of those little parasols they normally put in a cocktail and a straw so it looks like a real cocktail

    next you could also summerfy some little books with summery pictures so when you have to begin writing or end you will always get a happy summer vibe Me personally I love these ones from Zara homeย 

  8. Relax and float along

    If you have a floaty laying around like all those Instagram models, such as a giant flamingo, a donut, or whatever. Put it somewhere nice in your room fill the whole it normally has with cushions and dream away while reading a book, as if you are floating in your own sea or pool ๐Ÿ˜‰ Donโ€™t have a floaty, put your beachiest/summery towel on the ground and lay some cushions next and on it and act like you are sunning in your own room with a nice read and some beachy music ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Make a summer mood board

    Assemble pictures of summery things from the internet or cut them out from a magazine and put your own pictures in between them pate them with Sellotape or pin them down with pins onto a large cardboard and hang your master piece up on your wall. You could also put some goals for the summer in their as well if you want, in that way it can also count as a bucket summer list ๐Ÿ˜‰ or get your friends to write some nice memories on some pictures

  10. Ocean where are you?

    And lastly to resemble the ocean you could put a blue cosy blanket over your bed, so the sea will always be with you ๐Ÿ˜‰ or a multiple colour one to resemble the sunset ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope you enjoyed this little list with tips and tricks and if you try one of these, make sure I can see the result, by using the hashtag on Instagram: #littleredinspired. Hope you try some of them out! lots of love!

XOXO Little red

 

Leave a Reply

