Falling in love with old school musicals.

Recently I have been spending my evenings getting lost inside the wonderful world of old school and recent musical movies. It started due to the fact that there were a few musicals that I had never seen, who are well known classics, that get referenced a lot. So I thought by myself why not have a musical movie night. Since that night I can’t stop watching different kinds, it is my new bed time routine to watch a new musical movie before going to bed. I find it amazing how those old school movies are made, they have that “je ne sais pas feeling”, that instantly make you happy and ready to dance! I also love making my room really cosy, when i watch a movie. Its the perfect time to put on my new summery twinkle light’s, who make the room light up with that late summer evening vibe. Next I always need a little snack like a little bowl of chips or fruit if I am in a healthier kind of place. Of course I can’t forget about a nice drink as well, I prefer a nice warm hot tea. Then I fill my bed with cushions and press play.

So for this Music post, I want to change things up a bit 😉 Instead of presenting a great artist, I will give a list of must watch musicals, introduced by a lyric of my favourite song of the movie 🙂

  1. “Getting to know you, putting it my way but nicely, You are precisely my cup of tea”  The king and I  (1956)
  2. “I just Adore him, so I can’t ignore him, the boy next door” Meet me in St louis (1944)
  3. “I walk down the lane with a happy refrain just singin’ singin’ in the rain” Singing in the rain (1952)
  4. “When we go out at night and stars are shinin’ bright, up in the skies above, or at the high school dance, where you can find romance” Grease (1978)
  5. “Somewhere over the rainbow skies are blue, and the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true” The wizard of oz (1939)
  6.  “And every task you undertake, Becomes a piece of cake
    A lark! A spree! It’s very clear to see that” 
    Mary poppins (1964)
  7.  “On to your Waterloo, whispers my heart Pray I’ll be Wellington, not Bonaparte” Gigi (1958)
  8. I am 16 going on 17, I know that i’m naive. Fellows I meet may tell me I’m sweet and willingly I believe” The sound of music (1965)
  9. “I feel stunning and entrancing. Feel like running and dancing for joy
    .For I’m loved by a pretty wonderful boy!” 
    West side story (1961)
  10. “Tomorrow! Tomorrow!, I love ya! Tomorrow! You’re always a day away!” Annie (1982)

For those who love more recent musicals, you should definitely check these out if you haven’t yet!

  1. “How I love the way you move and the sparkle in your eyes. There’s a colour deep inside them, Like a blue suburban sky.” Rock of Ages (2012)
  2. “A bit of madness is key, to give us new colours to see. Who knows where it will lead us? and that’s why they need us” La la land (2016)
  3. “I’m tired of coverin’ up all my pride, so give me five on the black-hand side. I’ve got a new way of movin’ and I got my own voice” Hairspray (2007)
  4. “Now every time I go for the mailbox, gotta hold myself down
    ‘Cause I just can’t wait ’til you write me you’re coming around” 
    Walking on sunshine (2014)
  5. “Oh, the time has come, for my dreams to be heard, they will not be pushed aside and turned into your own. All cause you won’t Listen” Dreamgirls (2006)
Leave a Reply

